Anselmo Awards

Originating in 1997, the Andy Anselmo Achievement Award honors both students and teaching artists who are on the verge of breaking through to a higher level in their career.

The Andy Anselmo Achievement Award is also presented as an acknowledgement of lifetime achievement in show business, whether on stage or behind the scenes. In addition, the award is given to those, who through their generosity to the foundation, are designated as special benefactors.

From humble beginnings The Andy Anselmo Achievement Awards Gala has become the major fundraiser for the Foundation and has been held at such venues as The Kaplan Penthouse at Lincoln Center and the Allen Room at Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Past award recipients include Mandy Patinkin, Mia Farrow, Alec Baldwin, Julie Wilson and Mr. and Mrs. Paul Tudor Jones II.

Since their inception, the Andy Anselmo Achievement Awards have raised nearly 1 million dollars for the scholarship and outreach programs as well as contributing to the purchase of the Foundation’s headquarters at 49 West 24th Street in Manhattan.

Past recipients of the award are:

April 22, 1997
Billy Stritch

April 21, 1998
Sharon Laughlin

April 20, 1999
Thos Shipley
Julie Reyburn

April 24, 2000
Linda Burton
Eddie Peterson

April 23, 2001
Michael Civisca
Amanda Green
Louis A. Tallarini – Special Benefactor Award
James W. Zeigon – Special Benefactor Award
Mandy Patinkin – Lifetime Achievement Award

April 29, 2002
Margaret Curry
William Michals
Dale L. Ponikvar, Esq. – Special Benefactor Award
Mia Farrow – Lifetime Achievement Award

April 28, 2003
Lisa Anselmo
Chip Michaels
Mr. & Mrs. Thomas J. Sowanick – Special Benefactor Award
Lucine Amara – Lifetime Achievement Award
Alec Baldwin – Lifetime Achievement Award
Julie Wilson – Lifetime Achievement Award
John Albert Harris – Founder’s Award
David E. Travis – Outstanding Service Award

April 26, 2004
Jerome Harmann-Hardeman
Laura E. Taylor
Mr. & Mrs. Paul Tudor Jones, II – Special Benefactor Award
Tovah Feldshuh – Lifetime Achievement Award
Johnny King – Lifetime Achievement Award
Maria Bartiromo – Special Media Award

May 9, 2005
Barbara Fasano
Wendy Russell
Frances Levine – Special Benefactor Award
Arlene Dahl – Lifetime Achievement Award
Marty Richards – Lifetime Achievement Award
Philip Campanella – Distinguished Faculty Award

May 15, 2006
Eric Comstock
Christopher Temporelli
Carol Channing – Lifetime Achievement Award
Licia Albanese – Lifetime Achievement Award
Hon. Robert J. Dryfoos – Benefactor Award, posthumous
John Koprowksi – Volunteer Award
Julie Martin – Volunteer Award

May 7, 2007
Stephanie Baldwin
Alexia Tate
Karen Akers – Lifetime Achievement Award

April 28, 2008
Caroline Jones
Regis Philbin – Lifetime Achievement Award
The Singers Forum Outreach Program Performers – Special Volunteer Award

Comments are closed.